Ian’s Legal Fact of the Week 11/26/12: Adultery

Eight states still have laws against adultery on the books, ranging from a $10 fine in Maryland to life in prison in Michigan. Massachusetts is one of those states; under MGL c. 272  s.14, adultery is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for up to three years, jail for up to two years, or a maximum fine of $500. The last prosecution in MA was in 1980, and the law was upheld by the SJC in 1983.


Comments

Ian’s Legal Fact of the Week 11/26/12: Adultery — 1 Comment

  1. Hi Prof. Pilarczyk– I have really been enjoying your new feature on legal facts of the week; wanted to say that I look forward to reading more! Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *